About the Post

Author Information

Take a Break

I will admit there are quite a few changes taking place in my life right now. Whether it’s school, work, or relationships; it seems like multiple changes often occur at once. It can be overwhelming. And let me tell you, I am the first person to feel overwhelmed. That’s the problem though, I don’t have to feel overwhelmed and neither do you. Joyce Meyer puts it best,

“Our bodies give us warnings when we’re pushing ourselves too hard, like an ache here or a pain there. But we think, ‘I’ll be all right,’ and we ignore the warnings until we’re too sick to ignore them.”

I can’t count how many times this week I’ve ignored warning signs from my tired body. God didn’t intend for us to be all work and no play. He created us to work hard, but at the end of the day He wants us to relieve ourselves with friends, family, and Him.

We have to learn it’s okay to say no. We don’t need to worry about keeping up with everyone else. Or what everyone else thinks. And I worry. A lot. I find myself worrying not only about what others think of me, but what I think of myself. We need to realize, “Each of us needs to be who God created us to be, and we don’t have to apologize for it. We each need to individually find the balance of responsibility God has established for us to live in so we can enjoy our life, instead of making ourselves sick with an overload of stress and pressure.” Unfortunately, that’s often easier said than done. I have to stop myself from worrying, pray, and give it to Him, trusting He will take care of it.

I’ve faced a lot of negatively lately about my area of academic study. I’ve always promised myself I would do what brings me joy. But shouldn’t I promise God that what I do will bring Him joy? It’s so easy for us to become selfish. God has given me interests in writing, literature, baking, and craft making for specific reasons. Reasons, (unforeseen to me), that will one day please Him. I’m not waiting around for a “meaningful job,” I’m waiting around for God’s plan. It’s a constant reminder to appreciate the little conversations between us that signify encouragement. Conversations that are easily ignored when we become discouraged. God is always speaking to us, have you listened lately? Remember, He speaks in different ways – ways He knows we will truly understand and hear Him. Especially when He can’t get through our selfish, human heart.

Take a break to breathe, relax, and listen. God and your body will appreciate it.

-Angela Burneka

Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

